Getting old and sharing a birthday with google.

26 Sep

ImageExcuse me while I go sick up the old. At quarter to five in the morning on the 27th of September 2013 I will be twenty. It is currently six minutes past midnight on the 27th of September. No longer a teenager. 

Ew.

Now to a lot of adults and even people who are twenty this really doesn’t phase some of them. You’re already there. I bet you’re busy thinking “God I’m going to be (insert age here) on my next birthday, what’s this idiot on about?” Seriously though, right now it feels like a big deal. 

To help me cope with this I did the only sane thing I could think of. Make a list.

These are the things that happened today in history:

1. 1998: Google was born. Go look at the logo today, it’s cake! It’s not quite as old as me but yeah that’s cool.

2. 2012: 

  • The 133th element discovery in 2004 was confirmed
  • Curiosity discovers evidence of a fast-moving stream bed on Mars

3. 1993: (my birth year) 

  • Daniel Day Lewis pleads guilty to speeding charges
  • The Sukhumi massacre takes place in Abkhazia

4. 1991:  President Bush decides to end full-time B-52 bombers alert

5. 1978:

  • USSR performs nuclear test at Novaya Zemlya USSR, this also happened on the same day in 1973 and 1971.
  •  US performs nuclear test at Nevada Test Site

6. 1964:  Warren Commission released, finds Lee Harvey Oswald acted alone

7. 1961:  Sierre Leone becomes 100th member of UN

8. 1864: Jesse James’ gang surprise attack train: 150 killed

9. 1822: Jean-François Champollion announces that he has deciphered the Rosetta stone.

10. 1777: English General William Howe occupies Philadelphia during American Revolution

These were jut the most interesting ten I found having a quick read through of this list, well worth a look for history nuts. 

Leave a Reply

