Question 3# : debating the written form.

27 Jan

Poetry or Prose? Or If I’m up for a bit of an educational experience a script?

So one of the best things about my childhood has been the incredible amount of books that have amassed between books I’ve bought myself, ones given to me as a present and those bought for me. (The latter increasingly less in more recent years) I would try and count them but right now I’m at university and therefore only have a shelf-worth with me and some hidden around my room in bags and under my bed. Back home in what was for  fifteen years my room I have a bookcase double stacked and overflowing with books and another two shelves worth on the other side of the room, in other words there are books EVERYWHERE… oh and the cookbooks of mine which are sat on the cookbook shelf with the family collection.

OK, now I’ve got that out of the way I need to talk about a specific book… or two. Within a collection like that I guess it doesn’t surprise you to know that not all of that is fiction and not all of the fiction is prose. So once upon a teenage year I stood in a Waterstones that is no longer there, having been replaced by a much smaller model with more traffic. I picked up a book that really surprised me when I finally read it. Ellen Hopkins Crank. The blurb talked about the protagonists. monster, one that changed who she was. Being slightly more innocent back then and loving a bit of fantasy I of course bought the book. The book ended up being about a teenage high school student who found herself with a problem of a slightly different problem, drugs.

Now subject matter aside the thing that really struck me about Crank and it’s sequel Glass was the way in which it was written. It worked as an overall narrative using what Hopkins refers to as “verse novel”, a novel written in poetry. Whilst no this was not the only thing that made the book absolutely fantastic, it is the thing that makes it stand out given that this isn’t exactly the most popular written form.

As you may have noticed here I actually quite like writing poetry, ignorant of how good any of it ends up being. So a question that I myself have not quite answered yet is how I want to write the piece. In creating the world and the story I do have to wonder how to tell the story.

3 Responses to “Question 3# : debating the written form.”

  1. Piscis January 27, 2013 at 01:29 #

    Playing within the bounds of poetic structure can be a lot of fun…I’ve been contemplating writing a short story in verse for a while, now.

    • namelessnonfiction January 27, 2013 at 01:30 #

      I really like the idea of it, even if it’s just an experiment to play around with the language and structure.

      • Piscis January 27, 2013 at 01:32 #

        Indeed. There’s just something nice and dance-y that grabs you when done right.

Leave a Reply

