5 film quotes to make you think

31 Aug

So during my time off and preparing to go to uni my life has been alternating between ultra busy and nothing to do. With nothing to do I’ve shockingly enough been watching films. Favorites old and new with a few poorer examples thrown in. It surprised me just how good superhero movies have gotten this year. So in descending order, here are five quotes that have truly struck me:

5. The equation for death – Fight Club (1999)

“Now, should we initiate a recall? Take the number of vehicles in the field, A, multiply by the probable rate of failure, B, multiply by the average out-of-court settlement, C. A times B times C equals X. If X is less than the cost of a recall, we don’t do one. ”

A long quote I now, but from a film more iconic then the logo behind it. Fight Club’s narrator is left with the decision between a court settlement and a recall. The difference between life and death comes down to a cost equation. Arguably the strongest theme in the film (Anti-capitalism) conveyed in a moment easily overlooked on first viewing.

4. The words of Grandma death – Donnie Darko (2001)

Taken from IMDB.com

“She said that every living creature on Earth dies alone.”

Yet again centered on death the words of a woman whose book on time travel simplifies a film so many people don’t quite get. Probably because they didn’t pay any attention, like most other films that confused propel (Inception, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy etc.) it’s not that complicated if you pay attention.   I have to admit I do love a bit of time travel and it is part of the reason I love this film as much as I do. That and Jake Gyllenhaal…

Much more importantly this quote has a lingering presence throughout the film as we later see Frank, Gretchen and Donnie die with the implied deaths of Rose and Samantha. (not all in the same timeline of course –  still loving the time travel) I questioned my own beliefs after watching Donnie Darko for the first time because of the words of grandma death.

3. We are not Soldiers, or why I love Tony Stark – Avengers Assemble (2012)

Also taken from IMDB.com

“Tony Stark: He was an idiot.
Steve Rogers: He was doing his job!
Tony Stark: For taking Loki alone, he was out of his league.
Steve Rogers: Is this the first time you’ve lost a soldier?
Tony Stark: We are NOT soldiers! I am not marching to Fury’s fife!”

I smile every time I read or hear this conversation. It’s the reason Tony Stark is by far the best Avenger. (Sorry Thor – It would be Loki but he’s the bad guy… so yeah)  I really find it dull that Capsicle is the fact he is a soldier, he’s a by the book goody two shoes. Having paid to see Avengers Assemble three times it just started to bore me.

Yes, that is unnecessary for the character development that Joss Whedon is the king of. That doesn’t mean I have to like it, I’m not supposed to really. However Tony is so lovable because he is the complete opposite. He does what he likes, when he likes and it works. A fighter but clearly not a soldier.

2. Opening with a memorial – The Dark Knight Rises. (2012)

“I knew Harvey Dent. I was his friend. And it will be a very long time before someone… inspires us the way he did. I believed in Harvey Dent.”

I love Christopher Nolan’s use of Harvey Dent. A symbol to believe in, corrupt or not. Harvey Dent stood for everything that Gotham needed in The Dark Knight. Taking down Salvatore Maroni, the head of Gotham’s organised crime, as D.A. Dent did the thing that needed to be done. The legal job that “The batman”, used as a symbol to instill fear, could not do.

Unlike the word’s of Grandma death in Donnie Darko this quote supports one of my strongest ideals. People need something to believe in, even if it’s not the truth. Commissioner Gordon’s choice to keep Dent’s homicidal side is key to both the second and third films in the trilogy as The Dark Knight Rises opens with the hero vilified by the people he has protected.

1. Finishing with the importance of childhood friends – Stand By Me (1986)

“I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, does anyone?”

Based on “The Body” from Stephen Kings “Different seasons” Stand By Me is a film that for whatever reason resonated deeply within a fourteen year old me. The film ends on an incredible moment of nostalgia, leaving audiences touched. The friendship Chris and Gordie had being something everyone could relate to.

I feel like there aren’t the words to explain the things this quote makes me think or about, or the things it makes me feel. So I’m going to leave it here.

5 Responses to “5 film quotes to make you think”

  1. picture quotes September 2, 2012 at 06:03 #

    I just like the helpful info you provide on your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and test once more here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  2. best friend quote September 2, 2012 at 14:10 #

    Somebody necessarily lend a hand to make seriously posts I would state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular submit amazing. Fantastic task!

  3. Wilford Lesneski September 4, 2012 at 10:37 #

    Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. WordPress Seo Plugin

  4. Guillermo September 6, 2012 at 14:22 #

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to produce
    a very good article… but what can I say… I put things off a
    whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Improvements in Superhero movies | Nameless Non-ficton - September 20, 2012

    […] as you may be able to tell I have this thing about dialogue and quotes as you can see here. Joss Whedon certainly new what he was doing with Avengers Assemble. From fantastic one liners like […]

Leave a Reply

